Pinterest Project Complete – Homemade Laundry Detergent

This past Fall, I decided to try a Pinterest project to use as homemade Christmas gifts. I started the project in October with a goal of being completed by Thanksgiving. I chose to make homemade laundry soap because I have heard its a great way to make fresh natural laundry soap for a fraction of the costs at the store.

I loosely followed a recipe from HowDoesShe.com. I loved this recipe because it listed amounts per the box sizes found in stores! So helpful!

1 (4 lb 12 oz) Box of Borax

1 (3 lb 7 oz) Box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda

6 (5.5 oz) bars of Fels-Naptha soap

1 (4 lb) Box of Arm & Hammer Baking Soda (I measured my own from a big bag we had from Costco)

1-2 (55 oz) Bottle of Purex Crystals Fabric Softener

I also added a bit of Oxi Clean but not as much as the original called for.

Homemade Laundry Soap Detergent

I think my rough estimation for cost of these supplies was around $20. The Oxi Clean is the most expensive which is why I only used a small amount.

The first and only major step in this process is the grate the blocks of soap. Many suggested doing it manually with a cheese grater but there is no way I could do that while chasing DJ around. So I got out the food processor!

IMG_7369A few posts I read mentioned to put a bit of the baking soda by the blade so the soap wouldn’t get mushy. I had the grater blade at the top and turned it on and slowly pushed the bar of soap down. I found that the slower I pushed was actually the better because it made for finer shavings.

The next tip I read which was great was to “layer” your ingredients in a large 5 gallon bucket. I have some large mixing bowls and there was no way they would be big enough to hold all this.

IMG_7370It looked all pretty in the bucket with the purple crystals and the light yellow soap shreds! I used it for a month and made sure it worked well. I found that I had to use about 1/3-1/2 cup per load in my HE front loader machine (more than I typically would have thought to use) but it worked really well! Once I knew it was safe to use, I packaged it up and handed it out for Christmas gifts! I found the little buckets and scoops at the dollar tree.

IMG_7498

 

Leave a Reply

