5 year Goals

December 21 Prompt:
Author: Jenny Blake

Prompt: Future self. Imagine yourself five years from now. What advice would you give your current self for the year ahead? (Bonus: Write a note to yourself 10 years ago. What would you tell your younger self?)

Wow, five years from now. Its so hard to see where we will be! One thing I know for sure is that I really hope we have at least 1 child within the next five years. I am very afraid that I will have trouble conceiving due to an ovarian cyst that had to be removed along with a fallopian tube and part of my left ovary. I am scared that we will wait too long, waiting for the perfect time, and then it will be so frustrating through the process. I want to enjoy being pregnant and trying to conceive and be surprised when I get that big fat pregnancy. However, if this easy path is not meant for us, then I really hope to have the patience and faith to proceed gracefully.

Long shot goal here, but I would also like to be in a different job in 5 years. I just don’t see myself staying put for much longer without needing a change of scenery. There are some changes at work coming in 2011 so maybe that will help! I hope to have a very well rounded resume within 5 years.

Lastly, a goal for J. I hope within five years he will be done with his bachelors degree. He should be done with his AA at the end of summer 2011 so that leaves plenty of time to finish the last two years. I hope along the way he can find some meaningful experience and a full time career that satisfies him.

Bonus: Note to self 10 years ago

10 years ago I was a sophomore in high school. I am pretty happy with how my life has turned out over the last 10 years but one piece of advice would have been to save for the future. I always was good with money, but I wish I had a bit more guidance. I wish I knew more about budgeting and planning for the future.

2 thoughts on “5 year Goals

  1. Do you have any idea what your next career goal/dream career is? I’m constantly amazed that we’re expected to know what we want our careers to be so young… but I guess back in the day people didn’t get much of a choice, so we’re pretty lucky!

Leave a Reply

