New Truck and New Floors in 2010

December 10th – Reverb

Prompt: Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?
Author: Susannah Conway

If I wanted to be cheesy, I would say marrying my husband! He really is the best for putting up with me. All this week I have been on a really awkward sleep schedule. By 9 pm I am exhausted and can’t keep my eyes open. J sees it coming and agrees to crawl in bed with me. The problem is that by 3 or 4 am, I am pretty much awake and roll around until the alarm goes off at 6. Hopefully this weekend I can get back on a better schedule!

Anyways, the two other great decisions we made in 2010.

First, the truck we purchased. In May, a month before the wedding the lease on my little SUV was up. It was a Mitsubishi Outlander and I’d had it for 2 years. I loved it because it had plenty of room, got great gas mileage, and was just in general comfortable. Anyways, because of all the wedding expenses and such we struggled with what to do about a new car. J has always loved Toyota Tacoma’s and he felt it would be a good purchase for when he sells his big truck. We found a great used Tacoma in Florida for $6,000. It was low mileage (I think around 110,000 when we bought it) and was in good condition. Anyways, we were able to pay the truck with cash and don’t have a second car payment. The truck runs great and we love driving it around town on weekends. I still miss my Outlander though. As soon as I can convince J to trade in the big truck that’s what I’m getting!

The second great decision was to put in new hardwood floors and baseboards. It has really turned out house into a home (that and all the new wedding presents!) Here is what the ugly floors and baseboards looked like before:

5248468305_fb27b3677a_z.jpg

See the sheet vinyl/linoleum in the kitchen, and the bad berber carpet in the living room? See the lovely split between the two right in our house! Also, please ignore the teal couch, that was another great decision of 2010 was to replace that! We have also since removed the lovely 1980’s ceiling fan and upgraded our entertainment unit and tv! So really, our house looks nothing like this anymore!

Unfortunately, I just realized I don’t have a great new picture to show of the final product. Here is the closest thing I have which really does show the new wood color with the new thicker baseboards:

5248468509_b0d83d543b.jpg

So that’s it, our great decisions of 2010.

One thought on “New Truck and New Floors in 2010

Leave a Reply

