Spray Paint Knobs

Another quick home update project for us!

After falling in love with the new knobs in the kitchen and what a wonderful transformation it made, I wanted to continue with the other knobs in the three bathrooms. I couldn’t find the knobs at Target again for the rain check price so I decided to try something new. I had heard about an oil rubbed metal finish spray paint and since I had 22 extra knobs laying around I decided to give it a try!

Here is what I started out with:

PA100222

I had an old box lid, some type of screwdriver or something (to poke holes), the spray paint, and the knobs.

This specifically is the spray paint I used. I found it at WalMart for like $3 a can.

PA100224

I flipped the box lid upright and started poking holes in the top so the knobs could stand up correctly.

PA100225

From the underside of the box I pushed the screws in:

PA100226

Then pulled the screws through so they poked out on the top:

PA100227

Finally, I screwed the 6 ugly knobs onto the screws so they would stand up on their own on the box.

PA100229

And finally, with a quick coat of spray paint they turned out like this. I didn’t even do two coats !

PA100232

I was really happy with the dark finish but the flecks of gold in them. Honestly they are almost the exact same color as the ones I bought from Target! They look glossy here but they were still wet at this point. When they dried they are more of a “matte” finish.

Here is my bathroom before with the six creme colored ugly knobs:

PA100237

another view:

PA100238

Please ignore the ugly purple wallpaper, thats for another project!

And lastly, here is the final product!

PA100241

PA100242

As you can see its “almost” identical to the new knobs I put in the kitchen. The shape of these still dates the set but for $4 for as many knobs as I can paint versus $2 per knob this seems like a good compromise! I am actually so pleased with the color that I have been wondering what else I can spray with it. We have some really ugly brass door knobs…. hmmm….

2 thoughts on “Spray Paint Knobs

  1. Pingback: 2010 Creations « The History of Us

Leave a Reply

