First Newlywed Meatloaf



Meatloaf, originally uploaded by caszos.

This dish seems like the traditional newlywed dish! I don’t often cook because J is home before I am and he is very specific about how he likes his food.

Last night I knew I would get home before J because he had class, so I pulled out some ground turkey from the freezer. He wasn’t too happy about it because he doesn’t really care for turkey. I saw this recipe a while ago on Pioneer Woman and knew I should try it. Wrapping anything in bacon makes it better!

You can find the original recipe here: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/pioneerwoman-full-rss-feed/~3/87v6ZZJ8onQ/

I had to modify quite a bit so I’ll share what I used instead:

5 slices regular slices of bread (I used all the left over ends we had)
1 cup of milk
1.5 lbs lean ground turkey (like I said, J was not excited about this)
1/4 cup chopped celery (in food processor)
1 clove of garlic (again in food processor)
3 eggs (farm fresh for us!)
1 cup shredded Kraft Mozzarella
Cracker Pepper
Sea Salt
1 package bacon (10 strips or so)
3/4 cup ketchup
1/3 cup brown sugar
Splash of Tabasco sauce

Instructions: Let bread soak in milk in small bowl (tear up to help)

Combine meat, garlic, celery, pepper, cheese, salt and eggs. When mixed (and your hands are all dirty) then add the bread. Mix some more!

I didn’t have the proper pan so I had to lay some bacon down on this metal rack and then form a loaf on top of the bacon. Worked out pretty well though. It still allowed the juices to drain but kept the meat from dripping through the bars.

Wrap in bacon (I cut the slices in half and it was the perfect length) and cover in sauce mixture (ketchup, brown sugar, and tabasco).

Bake at 350 for a good hour!

I didn’t take pictures of the entire process because I needed to get this in the oven as soon as I could (remember I had to run to the grocery store too after work!). As it was I didn’t get it in the oven until 7 pm when J was just walking in the door. It wasn’t ready until after 8.

In the end J said he could still taste the turkey but he said we could try the recipe again with regular ground beef. Not bad for a wife’s first meatloaf!

2 thoughts on “First Newlywed Meatloaf

  1. I am a newlywed! And I made my mom’s meatloaf for the first time ever about a month ago. She never uses loaf pans, and just free-forms it, as you did above. Did I hear you say that you put bacon UNDERNEATH the meatloaf? I want to try out your method with this bacon, but just want to make sure I understand properly!

    • Yes, I just laid the strips of bacon on there and then wrapped bacon over the top. Worked pretty well.

      The one in the loaf pan worked out well too. While baking I just had to continuously drain the extra liquid from the top.

      Good luck with the recipe!

Leave a Reply

